Instrument # 287942

TETON COUNTY, IDAHO

12-9-2024 03:47:00 PM No. of Pages: 2

Recorded for: TETON COUNTY IDAHO BOARD OF COUN

KIM KEELEY Fee: 0.00

Ex-Officio Recorder Deputy_
Index to: RESOLUTION



Resolution 2024-1209B

Creation of Teton County, Idaho, Agricultural Protection Area Commission

WHEREAS, In 2024, the Idaho Legislature added a new chapter to the Idaho Code (IC), namely Title 67, Chapter 97, entitled the "Agricultural Protection Area Act", and

WHEREAS, in IC § 67-9702, the Idaho Legislature declared that the intent of the legislature in adopting the Agricultural Protection area was as follows:

- (a) Working farms, ranches, and forests provide important benefits to all Idahoans by sustaining: Idaho's economy, food and fiber production, the cultural heritage of local communities, habitat for wildlife, intact watersheds for clean water, and opportunities to hunt, fish, and enjoy the outdoors with landowner permission;
- (b) Working farms, ranches, and forests and the benefits they provide to Idahoans are being lost to rapid population growth, conversion to development, and other uses in recent decades;
- (c) Many of Idaho's rural working landowners are deeply committed to maintaining agricultural and forestry traditions and to serving as stewards of natural resources and wildlife; and
- (d) Idaho deeply respects the property rights of individual landowners and seeks to minimize the government's control over a landowner's decisions regarding the use of his property; and

WHEREAS, in Idaho Code § 67-9702, the Idaho Legislature further declared that the purpose of Title 67, Chapter 97 is to provide an opportunity to protect and enhance the economic and cultural benefits that working lands provide to Idahoans by promoting proactive planning tools for working landowners and governing bodies to maintain and enhance the economic value of working lands without impacting the property of those that elect not to participate in this opportunity; and

WHEREAS, The Agricultural Protection Area Act requires each Board of County Commissioners in Idaho to establish an Agricultural Protection Area Ordinance in accordance with the notice and hearing procedures in Idaho Code § 67-6509; and

WHEREAS, The Agricultural Protection Area Act also requires each Board of County Commissioners in Idaho to establish, by either resolution or ordinance, an Agricultural Protection Area Commission pursuant to Idaho Code § 67-9705; and

WHEREAS, The Teton County Board of County Commissioners will benefit from the establishment of the Agricultural Protection Area Commission to assist in development and review of the Agricultural Protection Area Ordinance and associated criteria and procedures;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Teton County Board of County Commissioners (Board), that an Agricultural Protection Area Commission (APA Commission) is hereby established in and for Teton County pursuant to Idaho Code § 67-9705. The APA Commission shall consist of five (5) members appointed by majority vote of the Board.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the purpose of the APA Commission is to protect the economic and cultural values of agriculture in Teton County by utilizing principles in compliance with IC § 67-9705 and other conservation tools that the Commission might develop through recommendation to the Board.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the APA Commission shall meet the requirements of Idaho Code § 67-9705, shall be selected without regard to political affiliation, and shall serve without compensation; provided, however, that actual and necessary expenses shall be allowed as approved by the Board.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the terms of agricultural protection area commissioners shall conform to the requirements of Idaho Code § 67-9705 and shall be for three (3) years. The Board shall fill expired or vacant positions within ninety (90) days of expiration or vacancy. Initial appointments to the Commission shall be made as follows: three (3) three-year terms; two (2) four-year terms; all subsequent appointments shall be made for three-year terms. Committee members may be reappointed to serve additional terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as original appointments, and the appointee shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term. Initial Terms shall begin on January 1, 2025, shall expire on September 30th as described above. Subsequent terms will run from October 1st to September 30th for three years.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board may adopt other provisions pertaining to the APA Commission or its members by resolution or ordinance.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED this 9th day of December, 2024.

Teton County Board of County Commissioners

Cindy Riegel, Chair, Teton County Commissioner

Michael Whitfield/Teton County Commissioner

Bob Heneage, Teton County Commissioner

ATTEST:

Kim Keeley, County Clerk