

TETON COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING

July 17, 2024 9:00 a.m. First Floor Commissioners' Meeting Room 150 Courthouse Dr, Driggs, ID 83422

Commissioners

Present:

Bob Heneage

Cindy Riegel

Michael Whitfield

Staff: Dan Reyes, County Manager

Kim Keeley, Clerk

1. MEETING CALL TO ORDER

MOVER: Michael Whitfield SECONDER: Bob Heneage

Approve the agenda.

AYES (3): Bob Heneage, Cindy Riegel, and Michael Whitfield

Adopted (3 to 0)

2. SPECIAL TOPICS

1. DISCUSSION ITEM: Work Session regarding Teton Valley Healthcare Facility

Also in attendance: Ken Dunn, Teton Valley Health (TVH) Board Member, Andrew Erickson TVH Controller, Trent Christiansen, TVH Director.

Commissioner Riegel opened the meeting with introductions.
Commissioner Whitfield gave a brief background on the history of the hospital. Currently the County owns the facility and leases it for \$70,000/year per the 2012 Liquid Asset Transfer Agreement and the 2015 Amended Lease.

Trent Christiansen gave a summary of the current state of the hospital. Nationally, rural hospitals are struggling. TVH Hospital's demand for

services are increasing while at the same time the facility requires significant upgrades. TVH is having difficulty obtaining financing due to not owning the facility (unable to secure debt).

TVH is proposing purchasing the facility. The Board brought up that unless there are exceptions that they are not aware of, County property needs to be sold in a public auction.

The Board requested that an elected official be included on the TVH Board.

The Board suggested that TVH speak with the School District regarding their facilities plans for the RUES campus just north of the hospital.

TVH will explore potential solutions and present a proposal at a future meeting.

3. COMMISSIONERS

1. EXECUTIVE SESSION: 74-206(1)

No executive session was required.

4. ADJOURNMENT

MOVER: Cindy Riegel

SECONDER: Michael Whitfield

Adjourn the meeting.

AYES (3): Bob Heneage, Cindy Riegel, and Michael Whitfield

Adopted (3 to 0)

	1 ,
Cindy Riegel, Chairperson	County Clerk or Deputy
5a.y	осын, онын он дорин,